At its most basic, a job architecture establishes the framework of jobs, and does a number of things, including:

  • Organizes jobs and levels

  • Defines job functions/families, subfamilies, titles, and codes

  • Helps define HRIS data requirements

  • Anchors HR processes (rewards, performance management, workforce planning, etc.)

  • Creates career paths and insights into career opportunities for employees

Index's job architecture outlines a hierarchy of jobs most often used by companies to manage talent and includes four major components - streams, levels, functions and job families - defined below. You can click on each element to view additional details.

Job Architecture Element


Used to distinguish between types of careers - typically individual contributor or manager.

Index includes four career streams:
• Executive

• Management

• Professional

• Support

Within each stream there are a defined set of job levels, which are used to relay the hierarchical position of a job, and recognize the incremental changes in job scope and responsibility.

Index includes 19 levels:
• Executive: Four levels (E1 - E4)

• Management: Five levels (M1 - M5)

• Professional: Six levels (P1-P6)

• Support: Four levels (S1-S4)

Functions group job families based on work disciplines and are generally recognized major professional areas, often requiring a unique set of skills.

Grouping of similar jobs within a functional area that uses a similar body of knowledge. Is not synonymous with organizational structure or reporting relationships, rather cuts across business units and geographic boundaries.

Have questions? Feel free to reach out to our Support team.

Did this answer your question?